Mon–Sat delivery · 4.9 from 834 reviews
Skip to main content

Council permits

Skip bin permits in the Northern Territory

Written by the Local Skip Bin Hire team · Updated 2 September 2026

In the Northern Territory you only need a council permit when a skip bin is placed on public land such as a road, footpath or nature strip; a bin on your own property usually needs none. When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the Northern Territory council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking.
4.9/5 from 834 reviewsEstablished 2016Family owned$20M Allianz insuredAustralian booking support

When you need a skip bin permit in the Northern Territory

You only need a council permit when the skip bin is placed on public land — a road, footpath, nature strip or verge. A bin placed entirely on your own driveway or property usually needs no permit. Councils require permits on public land to keep roads and footpaths safe and accessible. Rules and durations vary by council — the fee each council actually publishes is listed in the audited table below.

How the permit is handled

When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the Northern Territory council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking. This means you don't have to lodge the application yourself — just select your placement when booking, or call 1300 778 978.

The Northern Territory skip bin permit fees by council

These are the skip bin permit fees each The Northern Territory council itself publishes, read from each council’s own 2026–27 fees and charges on 2 September 2026 for our 100-council permit fee audit. Where a council publishes no skip bin permit fee, we say so — we never estimate.

Council Published permit fee Fee year Audited
Alice Springs Town Council $60.00 outside the CBD Zone; $250.00 within the CBD Zone. Each is valid for a maximum of one week and is inclusive of the permit application fee (council fees webpage, checked 2 September 2026) We could not tie these amounts to the text layer of the 2026-27 fees PDF, so confirm with the council on (08) 8950 0500 before relying on them. Not stated 2026-09-02
City of Darwin $110.00 application fee plus $20.00 per day for placement on the road reserve (2026-27 schedule, p32) 2026–27 2026-09-02
Litchfield Council $132.00 works permit application fee plus a $50.00 Storage on Road Reserve Fee for a maximum 5-day period (2026-27 schedule, p9). The schedule also lists a $12.00-per-day works permit fee — it is not clear from the schedule whether it stacks on top for a skip bin, so ask the council when you apply 2026–27 2026-09-02
City of Palmerston $65.00 per application, for a maximum 4-day period (2026-27 schedule, p19; up from $55.00 in 2025-26) 2026–27 2026-09-02
Katherine Town Council No published skip bin fee. The nearest line is a "Work in a Road Reserve Permit" at $139.00, but the council does not say it applies to skip bins — call the council before you budget for it Not stated 2026-09-02

Fee year “Not stated” means the council’s own source document shows no financial year. “No fee published” is the council’s published position at the audit date, not a zero fee — conditions, bonds or case-by-case charges may still apply. Full sources and all 100 councils: what a skip bin permit costs in my council.

The Northern Territory council permit guides

We keep a dedicated skip bin permit guide for each of these the Northern Territory councils:

Official council websites

Permits are issued by your local council. Use the official council website to check specific rules, fees and timeframes:

Council links reviewed 12 July 2026 — councils update their pages from time to time, so always confirm current requirements with your council.

Book with permit support

See the national council permit guide for how permits work, or the Northern Territory skip bin hire page for coverage.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a council permit for a skip bin in the Northern Territory?

Only if the bin is placed on public land such as a road, footpath or nature strip. On your own driveway or property a permit is usually not required. Rules and fees vary by council.

Who arranges the permit?

When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the Northern Territory council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking.

How much is a skip bin permit?

Read from each council’s own 2026–27 fees and charges on 2 September 2026: Palmerston charges $65 per application for a maximum 4-day period; Darwin a $110 works permit application fee plus $20 per day on the road reserve; Litchfield a $132 works permit application fee plus a $50 Storage on Road Reserve Fee for a maximum 5-day period (the schedule also lists a $12-per-day works permit fee — ask the council whether it stacks on top for a skip bin); Alice Springs’ fees webpage lists $60 outside the CBD Zone or $250 within it, each valid for a maximum of one week — we could not tie these amounts to the text layer of the 2026-27 fees PDF, so confirm with the council on (08) 8950 0500. Katherine publishes no skip bin fee. The permit fee is separate from the skip bin hire price and is confirmed before it is added to your booking.

Book a skip bin in the Northern Territory

Enter your suburb or postcode, choose your placement, and we'll arrange any council permit your delivery needs.

Check local prices