Council permits
Skip bin permits in Tasmania
Written by the Local Skip Bin Hire team · Updated 2 September 2026
When you need a skip bin permit in Tasmania
You only need a council permit when the skip bin is placed on public land — a road, footpath, nature strip or verge. A bin placed entirely on your own driveway or property usually needs no permit. Councils require permits on public land to keep roads and footpaths safe and accessible. Rules and durations vary by council — the fee each council actually publishes is listed in the audited table below.
How the permit is handled
Where a booking can be arranged in Tasmania and public placement is required, Local Skip Bin Hire would organise the council permit and confirm the fee with you. This means you don't have to lodge the application yourself — just select your placement when booking, or call 1300 778 978.
Tasmania skip bin permit fees by council
These are the skip bin permit fees each Tasmania council itself publishes, copied from each council’s own fee schedule or permit page — on 2026-08-29 as part of our 100-council permit fee audit, or on 2 September 2026 where we re-read the council for its own guide below. The Audited column shows the date each row was read. Where a council publishes no skip bin permit fee, we say so — we never estimate.
| Council | Published permit fee | Fee year | Audited |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clarence City Council | $52.60 per week (2026-27 schedule, p41) — Bond (commercial properties): A refundable infrastructure protection bond of $2,144.10 per bin, plus a $153.00 bond administration fee — the administration fee is waived if an infrastructure condition report is provided | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| Glenorchy City Council | No fee — the council states "you'll need a permit — but there's no fee to apply" (fee absence also verified against the 2026-27 fees schedule) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| Hobart City Council | $65.00 per week for 2026-27, as listed by the Australian Government's ABLIS service — we could not read it on a page of the council’s own website, so confirm it with the City of Hobart before you rely on it. | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| Kingborough Council | $98.00 per week — set as 50 state fee units (2026-27 schedule, p9) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Launceston | Charged on area and duration: a minimum fee of $173.20 with a maximum weekly fee of $1,000, pro rata daily if under seven days; the occupation rate is $4.20 per m2 per week outside the CBD and $5.20 per m2 per week within the CBD. Listed GST Exempt (Div 81) in the 2026/27 schedule. Additional hooding fees apply in metered parking bays. | 2026–27 | 2026-08-29 |
| Sorell Council | No published fee — the fee is set case-by-case. Call the council on (03) 6269 0000 to have your placement priced | Not stated | 2026-09-02 |
| Devonport City Council | No usable skip bin permit information published | — | 2026-08-29 |
Fee year “Not stated” means the council’s own source document shows no financial year. “No fee published” is the council’s published position at the audit date, not a zero fee — conditions, bonds or case-by-case charges may still apply. Full sources and all 100 councils: what a skip bin permit costs in my council.
Tasmania council permit guides
We keep a dedicated skip bin permit guide for each of these Tasmania councils:
Official council websites
Permits are issued by your local council. Use the official council website to check specific rules, fees and timeframes:
Council links reviewed 12 July 2026 — councils update their pages from time to time, so always confirm current requirements with your council.
Book with permit support
See the national council permit guide for how permits work, or the Tasmania page for coverage.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a council permit for a skip bin in Tasmania?
Only if the bin is placed on public land such as a road, footpath or nature strip. On your own driveway or property a permit is usually not required. Rules and fees vary by council.
Who arranges the permit?
Local Skip Bin Hire would organise the council permit where a Tasmanian booking can be arranged and public placement is required, confirming the fee with you first.
How much is a skip bin permit?
Read from each council’s own schedule or website on 2 September 2026 (Launceston and Devonport on 2026-08-29): Glenorchy charges no fee to apply; Clarence $52.60 per week, with a refundable $2,144.10 infrastructure protection bond per bin for commercial properties; Hobart $65 per week for 2026–27 as listed by the Australian Government’s ABLIS service — we could not read it on the council’s own website, so confirm it with the City of Hobart; Kingborough $98 per week (50 state fee units); Launceston charges on area and duration, from a minimum of $173.20 to a maximum weekly fee of $1,000. Sorell publishes no set fee and prices each Road Reserve Permit case-by-case, and Devonport publishes no usable skip bin permit information. The permit fee is separate from the skip bin hire price and is confirmed before it is added to your booking.
Book a skip bin in Tasmania
Enter your suburb or postcode, choose your placement, and we'll arrange any council permit your delivery needs.
Check local prices