Council permits
Skip bin permits in South Australia
Written by the Local Skip Bin Hire team · Updated 2 September 2026
When you need a skip bin permit in South Australia
You only need a council permit when the skip bin is placed on public land — a road, footpath, nature strip or verge. A bin placed entirely on your own driveway or property usually needs no permit. Councils require permits on public land to keep roads and footpaths safe and accessible. Rules and durations vary by council — the fee each council actually publishes is listed in the audited table below.
How the permit is handled
When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the South Australia council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking. This means you don't have to lodge the application yourself — just select your placement when booking, or call 1300 778 978.
South Australia skip bin permit fees by council
These are the skip bin permit fees each South Australia council itself publishes, copied from each council’s own fee schedule or permit page — on 2026-08-29 as part of our 100-council permit fee audit, or on 2 September 2026 where we re-read the council for its own guide below. The Audited column shows the date each row was read. Where a council publishes no skip bin permit fee, we say so — we never estimate.
| Council | Published permit fee | Fee year | Audited |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adelaide Hills Council | $80.00 application fee (this includes the first week permit fee, every week thereafter incurs a fee of $42.00 per week) (2026-27 schedule) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Adelaide | $1.85 per square metre per day, capped at $430 per day, with a minimum fee of $32.00 per day | 2026–27 | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Burnside | Up to 14 day permit - more than 3 days notice - $128.50; Up to 14 day permit - rapid processing (less than 3 business days notice) - $182.00; Additional 7 days (or part thereof) - $91.00; Lost permit/re-issue of permit - $21.75 (2026-27 schedule, effective 1 July 2026) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Charles Sturt | $109 application fee for a skip up to 4m3, including the first 3 days on public land; $161 for 5m3 and over; $27 per day beyond the first 3 days; plus $54 if you apply with less than 5 working days' notice | Not stated | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Holdfast Bay | Section 221 / 222 Permit Fees - Application fee $80.00; On-road / footpath occupation - excluding dedicated car parks (per m2 per day or part thereof, min. $40) $1.10; extension of an existing permit $40.00; retrospective application (where the bin is already in place) $200.00 (2026-27 schedule, p6) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Marion | Permit to deposit materials, mini skip & shipping container $51.00 (2026-2027 schedule, p4). The register also carries a generic section 221/222 authorisation line at $170.00 — the $51.00 mini-skip line is the specific line for skip bins | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Mitcham | $58.70 non-refundable application lodgement fee | Not stated | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters | Public Space Occupancy - Skip Bin Authorisations $76.50 per application; Public Space Occupancy - Application Fee (New) $40.00 per application (GST not applicable) (26/27 schedule) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Onkaparinga | $178.00 per application (2026-27 schedule) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| City of Prospect | $172.00 where at least 4 days notice is given to Council; $285.00 for an urgent placement with less than 4 days notice | 2026–27 | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Salisbury | $80 residential, $595 commercial/industrial, $25 charity/community | Not stated | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Unley | $80.00 for a skip bin, shipping container or bin on street approval covering a maximum of 7 days; $100.00 if lodged as a priority application | 2026–27 | 2026-08-29 |
| City of West Torrens | $93.00 application fee plus a $15.60 per day permit fee — a 7-day skip works out at $202.20 all up (2026-27 schedule, p11) | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| Corporation of the Town of Walkerville | $262 for the first week and $177 for each additional week for a residential skip bin; a commercial or industrial skip bin location is a fixed $584 for up to 12 months | 2026–27 | 2026-08-29 |
| Town of Gawler | $100.00 non-refundable application fee | 2026–27 | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Mount Gambier | No fee is published in the 2026-27 register — the application form says "Authorisation Fee (if any)". Call the council on (08) 8721 2555 to confirm what, if anything, you will be charged | 2026–27 | 2026-09-02 |
| The Barossa Council | Not published — the fee is set on the individual permit when it is issued | Not stated | 2026-09-02 |
| Campbelltown City Council | No fee published | — | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Playford | No fee published | — | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Port Adelaide Enfield | No fee published | — | 2026-08-29 |
| City of Tea Tree Gully | No fee published | — | 2026-08-29 |
Fee year “Not stated” means the council’s own source document shows no financial year. “No fee published” is the council’s published position at the audit date, not a zero fee — conditions, bonds or case-by-case charges may still apply. Full sources and all 100 councils: what a skip bin permit costs in my council.
South Australia council permit guides
We keep a dedicated skip bin permit guide for each of these South Australia councils:
Official council websites
Permits are issued by your local council. Use the official council website to check specific rules, fees and timeframes:
Council links reviewed 12 July 2026 — councils update their pages from time to time, so always confirm current requirements with your council.
Book with permit support
See the national council permit guide for how permits work, or the South Australia skip bin hire page for coverage.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a council permit for a skip bin in South Australia?
Only if the bin is placed on public land such as a road, footpath or nature strip. On your own driveway or property a permit is usually not required. Rules and fees vary by council.
Who arranges the permit?
When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the South Australia council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking.
How much is a skip bin permit?
Read from each council’s own fee register (audited 2026-08-29, with the councils that have their own guide below re-read on 2 September 2026): Marion charges $51 per application; Mitcham $58.70; Norwood Payneham & St Peters $76.50 per skip bin authorisation plus a $40 application fee; Adelaide Hills $80 including the first week then $42 per week; Holdfast Bay $80 application plus $1.10 per m² per day (minimum $40); Unley $80 for up to 7 days or $100 as a priority application; Salisbury $80 residential, $595 commercial or industrial, $25 charity or community; West Torrens $93 application plus $15.60 per day; Gawler $100; Charles Sturt $109 for a skip up to 4m³ or $161 for 5m³ and over including the first 3 days, then $27 per day; Burnside $128.50 for up to 14 days with more than 3 business days’ notice or $182 for rapid processing; Prospect $172 with at least 4 days’ notice or $285 urgent; Onkaparinga $178 per application for a maximum of 3 days; Walkerville $262 for the first week and $177 for each additional week ($584 commercial or industrial); City of Adelaide $1.85 per m² per day, minimum $32 and capped at $430 per day. Mount Gambier and The Barossa Council publish no set fee, and Campbelltown, Playford, Port Adelaide Enfield and Tea Tree Gully publish an approval but no fee. The permit fee is separate from the skip bin hire price and is confirmed before it is added to your booking.
Book a skip bin in South Australia
Enter your suburb or postcode, choose your placement, and we'll arrange any council permit your delivery needs.
Check local prices