Mon–Sat delivery · 4.9 from 834 reviews
Skip to main content

Council permits

Skip bin permits in New South Wales

Written by the Local Skip Bin Hire team · Updated 2 September 2026

In New South Wales you only need a council permit when a skip bin is placed on public land such as a road, footpath or nature strip; a bin on your own property usually needs none. When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the New South Wales council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking.
4.9/5 from 834 reviewsEstablished 2016Family owned$20M Allianz insuredAustralian booking support

When you need a skip bin permit in New South Wales

You only need a council permit when the skip bin is placed on public land — a road, footpath, nature strip or verge. A bin placed entirely on your own driveway or property usually needs no permit. Councils require permits on public land to keep roads and footpaths safe and accessible. Rules and durations vary by council — the fee each council actually publishes is listed in the audited table below.

How the permit is handled

When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the New South Wales council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking. This means you don't have to lodge the application yourself — just select your placement when booking, or call 1300 778 978.

New South Wales skip bin permit fees by council

These are the skip bin permit fees each New South Wales council itself publishes, copied from each council’s own fee schedule on 2026-08-29 as part of our 100-council permit fee audit. Where a council publishes no skip bin permit fee, we say so — we never estimate.

Council Published permit fee Fee year Audited
Bayside Council $355.00 application fee (waived for a single dwelling residence for up to 5 days), plus a daily occupancy fee of $23.00 for a skip under 2.5 cubic metres or $46.50 for a skip over 2.5 cubic metres Not stated 2026-08-29
Blacktown City Council No per-bin permit fee is published for the hirer. Skip bin companies pay a registration fee of $525.00 per financial year (non-refundable) for 2026/27. Where an unregistered company's bin is placed, a road occupancy application fee applies: $383.00 per day, per lane, per 30 metres length or part thereof on a local road (2026/27); $499.00 on a regional road. 2026–27 2026-08-29
Campbelltown City Council $256.00 incl. GST for 2026-27 for a road occupancy and/or car park occupancy application, plus occupancy charges on top of the application fee: skips are charged as Standing Plant at $13.50 per lineal metre of plant, or $9.05 per lineal metre per day on a footpath/nature strip, $10.50 per lineal metre per day for kerbside occupancy in a residential zone and $13.50 in industrial and CBD areas. 2026–27 2026-08-29
Central Coast Council $218.05 per licence (Road Occupancy Licence Application fee), GST $0.00 so $218.05 total 2026–27 2026-08-29
City of Canterbury Bankstown $135.00 (2026-27, GST-free) for a waste/skip bin/shipping container on a road or footpath that is more than 4 metres in length. The fee schedule line is limited to containers over 4 metres and cross-refers to DCP D1 exempt development; no separate fee line is published for containers of 4 metres or less. 2026–27 2026-08-29
City of Newcastle $122.00 per building waste application for 2026/27 (up from $116.00 in 2025/26); suppliers also pay an Annual Registration Fee of $422.00 per applicant per annum 2026–27 2026-08-29
City of Parramatta Council Building waste containers up to 5 lineal metres per container - application fee including one day or part thereof usage: CBD $67.20; High Density and/or Town Centre areas $57.75; all other areas $46.20 (2026/27, GST-free). Over 5 lineal metres per container: CBD $134.40; High Density/Town Centre $105.00; all other areas $82.95. An urgency fee for approval within 24 hours is charged in addition, at the same amounts. Additional days are charged as printed: CBD $64/day, High Density/Town Centre $55/day, all other areas $44/day. 2026–27 2026-08-29
City of Ryde Per container or skip: $122.00 for 1 to 3 days, $165 for 4 to 7 days, $228 per week or part week beyond 7 days 2026–27 2026-08-29
City of Sydney No permit application fee is published for a residential skip bin, because compliant residential skip bins are exempt from approval. The only published skip-bin line items are confiscation charges: $1,151.00 per container for small licenced bins 2.5m x 1.5m x 1m, and $1,727.00 per container for all other sizes exceeding those dimensions (2026/27). All City of Sydney fees are shown GST inclusive. 2026–27 2026-08-29
Fairfield City Council $159.00 per week for skip bins, charged in whole weeks. The form is marked Date Effective: July 2026, Review Date: June 2027. Not stated 2026-08-29
Georges River Council $57.00 application fee plus $130.00 per bin per week on public land 2026–27 2026-08-29
Hornsby Shire Council $144.00 for a 14 day skip bin or container permit 2026–27 2026-08-29
Inner West Council Free for the initial period if the bin is hired from a Council-approved provider: 7 days in a non-metered parking area (max 2 free permits per calendar year) or 3 days in a metered parking area (max 1 per calendar year). Beyond that the additional period costs $148.00/week in a non-metered area (up to 12 weeks) or $71.70/day in a metered area (up to 7 days). Not stated 2026-08-29
Lake Macquarie City Council $101.00 (GST $0.00) application fee per skip bin placement, for a maximum of 30 days 2026–27 2026-08-29
Liverpool City Council Placement of a skip bin on a footpath within the Liverpool City Centre: $235.90 for up to 3 days, or $324.30 per metre for more than 3 days. Placement on a public road outside the Liverpool City Centre: $324.30 for up to 3 days, or $453.40 per week for more than 3 days. Placement on a kerb side lane within the Liverpool City Centre: $620.60 per metre for up to 3 days, or $867.80 per metre per week for more than 3 days. All shown GST-free. Not stated 2026-08-29
Northern Beaches Council $252 application fee including the first 7 days placement; $234 per additional week after the first 7 days; $1,148 late fee if the application is lodged after the container has already been placed. The form is headed 2026/2027. 2026–27 2026-08-29
Randwick City Council Bins up to 3m long: $200.00 one-off approval including the first 7 days, then $205.00 per week or $36.00 per day. Bins over 3m: $330.00 including the first 7 days, then $330.00 per week or $50.00 per day. Add $45.00 per day in a restricted parking zone and $45.00 per day for a footpath or other non-standard position. An extension of time costs $65.00 and a 24-hour fast track $95.00. All amounts show GST $0.00. 2026–27 2026-08-29
Sutherland Shire Council $45.00 for 2 days, $120.00 for 7 days, or $230.00 for a maximum of 14 days (each shown as GST $0.00, so the amount payable equals the fee) Not stated 2026-08-29
The Hills Shire Council $146.00 application fee (incl. GST) plus a $594.00 refundable bond, charged only where the placement is not exempt under Council's Local Approval Policy. Nothing is payable for a bin wholly on private property or for an exempt nature strip placement. 2026–27 2026-08-29
Wollongong City Council No skip-bin-specific fee is published. The road reserve occupation schedule on the same page lists a rental of $26.00 per lineal metre per month, or $124.00 for an occupation zone up to 5m, $249.00 up to 10m and $620.00 up to 25m (all incl. GST), plus a refundable damage deposit from 10m up. Not stated 2026-08-29
Cumberland City Council No fee published — 2026-08-29
Penrith City Council Not verified — the council’s published material contradicts itself: its adopted 2026-27 schedule prices an application to “Place a waste container in a public place” at $307.00, while its only published sentence containing the words “skip bins” says they are not to be stored on the Council road reserve. Phone (02) 4732 7777 2026–27 2026-08-29

Fee year “Not stated” means the council’s own source document shows no financial year. “No fee published” is the council’s published position at the audit date, not a zero fee — conditions, bonds or case-by-case charges may still apply. Full sources and all 100 councils: what a skip bin permit costs in my council.

New South Wales council permit guides

We keep a dedicated skip bin permit guide for each of these New South Wales councils:

Official council websites

Permits are issued by your local council. Use the official council website to check specific rules, fees and timeframes:

Council links reviewed 12 July 2026 — councils update their pages from time to time, so always confirm current requirements with your council.

Book with permit support

See the national council permit guide for how permits work, or the New South Wales skip bin hire page for coverage.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a council permit for a skip bin in New South Wales?

Only if the bin is placed on public land such as a road, footpath or nature strip. On your own driveway or property a permit is usually not required. Rules and fees vary by council.

Who arranges the permit?

When you select a public placement during booking, Local Skip Bin Hire arranges the New South Wales council permit for you and adds the council fee to your booking.

How much is a skip bin permit?

Audited from each council’s own fee schedule on 2026-08-29: Sutherland Shire charges $45 for 2 days, $120 for 7 days or $230 for 14 days; Lake Macquarie $101 per placement (maximum 30 days); Newcastle $122 per application; Hornsby $144 for a 14-day permit; Central Coast $218.05 per licence; Ryde $122 for 1–3 days, $165 for 4–7 days or $228 per week beyond that; Fairfield $159 per week; Georges River $57 plus $130 per bin per week; Randwick $200 for bins up to 3m or $330 over 3m, including the first 7 days; Northern Beaches $252 including the first 7 days then $234 per week; Bayside $355 application (waived for a single dwelling for up to 5 days) plus $23 or $46.50 per day; Campbelltown $256 plus per-lineal-metre occupancy charges; Parramatta $46.20 to $134.40 by area and container length plus $44 to $64 per additional day; Canterbury Bankstown $135 for a container over 4 metres long; Liverpool $235.90 for up to 3 days on a City Centre footpath, $324.30 for up to 3 days on a road outside the City Centre or $453.40 per week beyond that, with per-metre rates for City Centre kerb-side lanes; The Hills $146 plus a $594 refundable bond where the placement is not exempt; Inner West free for the initial period from a Council-approved provider, then $148 per week or $71.70 per day. City of Sydney exempts compliant residential skip bins from approval, Blacktown publishes no per-bin fee for the hirer, Wollongong and Cumberland publish no skip-bin-specific fee, and Penrith’s published material contradicts itself — ring the council. The permit fee is separate from the skip bin hire price and is confirmed before it is added to your booking.

Book a skip bin in New South Wales

Enter your suburb or postcode, choose your placement, and we'll arrange any council permit your delivery needs.

Check local prices